A Day with Platform 4: Lunchtime concert: Heritage Ensemble 360 & Vertavo String Quartet

Past Events

£11/£7.50 Disabled & Unemployed/£5 Students & Under 35

As part of Sheffield’s Year of Making, the four members of the city’s composers’ collective Platform 4 help us to take a look at where musical inspiration comes from and how it is notated and performed.

Platform 4 are: Tom James, Jenny Jackson, Chris Noble, and Tom Owen

SCHOENBERG String Trio Op.45 (Ensemble 360)
BEETHOVEN String Quintet in E flat Op.4 (Vertavo String Quartet and Ruth Gibson VIOLA)

Schoenberg’s String Trio Op.45 was first performed in Spring 1947. The composer had suffered a major heart attack just two and a half weeks before beginning to work on the trio in earnest and he told the author Thomas Mann that the music that emerged reflected his physical and psychological suffering in that period.

Beethoven’s String Quintet in E flat is a major re-writing of an earlier wind octet – conceived as light-hearted entertainment rather than as a serious concert work – that was not published until after the composer’s death. This revised version shows Beethoven’s growing maturity: it is significantly longer than the original yet it comes across as a much more concise, compact and engaging piece.

“My music is not modern, it is merely badly played.” Arnold Schoenberg

Posted on 27th February 2016

More in Past Events